Image

Plex Privacy Settings



How to Disable Discover Together Sharing
and other data privacy suggestions

Plex recently rolled out a recent “Feature” the in short words, emails your Plex “Friends” a short list of things you watched last week. This is an Opt-OUT feature, meaning it's Enabled by default for all Plex users, new or old. Below are steps outlined how to Opt-OUT of this new feature along with some other Privacy settings everyone should be aware of scattered throughout many pages under the Plex Umbrella. These are mere suggestions, do your research and reading before making any changes on your own accounts.

Log into app.plex.tv  through a web browser.

Select your profile photo in the top-right corner of the screen, then select

"View Profile"

Image
Select "Edit Profile"
Image
Select "Manage who can see your activity"
Image

Make sure all options are set to private.

(Account Visibility defaults to "Anyone," with "Friends Only" currently being the most restrictive choice as of writing.)

Image

How to Disable Sending playback data to Plex

  1. Log into  through a web browser.
  2. Navigate to the following URL: 
  3. Under "Optional Playback Data," you will find "Send playback data to Plex"
  4. Uncheck "Send playback data to Plex"
Image

Other Optional things to Disable

**U.S. users from select states can also opt-out from sharing information with Plex's advertising partners